Sat 3rd of December saw the junior squad from Newry and Mourne swimming club, led by junior club captains Isaac Mc Elherron and Shona Mc Keever, take to the blocks against Breifne swimming club from Cavan in the first gala of the aquasprint league. The last time the two clubs met, victory went to Cavan but the Newry team having enjoyed recent successes were determined to put that behind them. Opening with the medley relays as always, things were tight with each team securing 2 wins and starting the individual swims neck and neck. At this point Newry started to show Breifne how much things have changed since they last met. Slowly but surely Newry inched ahead opening up a gap that increased with each event. By the time the final front crawl relay blazed to a finger touch finish, Newry had done enough. Victory was clenched by the home side with 215 points to Newry and 185 to Breifne.
Although very much a team effort some exceptional swims were on display. Tara Haffey won all 4 of her races, was on both winning relay teams and also secured 4 personal best times. Amy Hunter won 3 of her races, Calum Breslin and Aran Mc Laughlin both won 2 races, Amy-Lee Hart, Finn Garry, Charlie Magill and Lewis Gray all won a race each. A huge well done has to go to some of the very young swimmers, some only 6, who did their very best for their team.
As always thanks has to go to all the parent coaches led by head coach Paul Rogers, all the parents who volunteer their time so willingly and the staff of Newry and Mourne Leisure Centre for all their help and support.